Fellowship, Yaddo, Fiction writing, 1978.


  • The Best American Essays 2016, Notable Essays and Literary Nonfiction of 2015, for “Her Dark Places,” D Magazine, October 2015
  • PEN Southwest Inaugural Book Awards, Fiction, 2000-2005, for Corina’s Way
  • Lowell Thomas Award, Bronze, Society of American Travel Writers, Personal Commentary, “Remembering New Orleans,” Spirit, 2006.
  • Best of Show, 2006 Newsstand Resource Cover Contest, for “Parched,” cover photo for my story, “Hard Truth, Dry Times,” D Magazine, 2006.
  • Best Newspaper Article, Society of American Travel Writers, Central States Chapter, “Real, Simple,” San Antonio Express-News, 2006.
  • Gold Award, Public Issues, International Regional Magazine Association, “Rio No Mas,”  Texas Parks &Wildlife Magazine, 2003.
  • Silver Award, Photojournalism, IRMA, “Rio No Mas,” Texas Parks & Wildlife Magazine, shared with photographer Earl Nottingham, 2003.
  • Best Feature, Maggie Awards, “Rio No Mas,” Texas Parks & Wildlife Magazine, 2002.
  • Finalist, Association of Food Journalists Awards, features, “Faith in the Future,” Cooking Light, 1999.
  • Finalist, Henry R. Luce Award, Public Service, Time Inc., “Faith in the Future,” Cooking Light, 1999.
  • PEN Texas Award, Best Essay, “The Fate of the Texas Writer,” Texas Observer, 1997.
  • Katie Award, “The Law and Lena Levario,” D, 1993.
  • Anson Jones Award, Texas Medical Assn., “Someone Else’s Disease,” D, 1993.
  • Co-winner, CRMA White Award (Gold), Best Magazine, D, 1991.
  • CRMA White Award (Silver), Public Affairs, “War in the Streets,” D, 1991.
  • Silver Star Award, Texas Hospital Assn., “D.O.A.,” D, 1991.
  • Katie Award, “D.O.A.,” D, 1991.
  • Katie Award, Dallas Press Club, “From Here to Anasazi,” D, 1991.
  • William Allen White Award (Gold), City and Regional Magazine Association (CRMA), “Live Fast, DieYoung,” Southern magazine, 1989.
  • Bryant Spann Prize, Eugene V. Debs Foundation, Investigative reporting, “The Onion Revolt,” The Texas Observer, 1981.